Save the date: 19 – 28 JANUARY 2024
Back to News

Official Opening of the Australian Country Music Foundation Hall of Fame

14 January 2016

Official Opening - Australian Country Music Foundation Hall of Fame

The Australian Country Music Foundation (ACMF) ‘Hall of Fame’ will officially open this Saturday, 16th January. During the ceremony, the 2016 recipients of the Hands of Fame and Broadcasters Hall of Fame will be announced.

Country stars Dianne Lindsay and Lindsay Butler will cut the ribbon after which Tamworth Region Mayor, Col Murray will ceremonially hand over the keys to ACMF President Eric Scott, cementing the partnership between Tamworth Regional Council and the Foundation.
The Hall of Fame is now located at the former Visitor Information Centre, on the corner of Peel and Murray Streets, a venue provided by Council to ensure the impressive collection remains within Tamworth.

The official opening also finalises the relocation of the Visitor Information Centre to the Big Golden Guitar building on Goonoo Goonoo Road and cements Tamworth’s unique destination experience.

The volunteers lead the move to the new location, donating endless hours to ensure the doors are officially opened in time for the 2016 Toyota Country Music Festival, Tamworth.

“Preserving the history of Australian country music is vital in ensuring the future of the industry” explained Cr Murray.

“Allowing visitors to Tamworth the opportunity to understand the history of the country music industry enhances their visit, especially during the Festival” added Cr Murray.

The ceremony will take place at the guitar-shaped building, on the corner of Peel and Murray Streets, at 10.30am.

Tamworth Regional Council acknowledges the Gamilaroi/Kamilaroi people, who are the Traditional Custodians of this land. We would like to pay respect to Elders past and present, and extend that respect to other Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples living in and visiting our region.